Criminal Compliance

Compliance“" means the entirety of a company's organizational measures aimed at ensuring the lawful conduct of the company's executives and employees in the performance of their activities for the company in order to avoid legal risks.

Criminal Compliance focuses on the risk of individual or collective exposure to criminal liability.

Criminal compliance is not just a commandment of good corporate governance and sound economic sense. The obligation of the company's executives to take appropriate organizational measures to avoid criminal acts also results from statutory provisions, in particular § 130 German Administrative Offenses Act (OWiG). The breach of these obligations may lead to substantial fines which may be inflicted on the company's executives (§ 130 OWiG) as well as the company itself (§ 30 OWiG). These fines are independent of any further sanctions for criminal or administrative wrongdoing.

In our view, a systematic approach to criminal compliance typically involves three elements:

  1. identifying the company's specific risks of exposure to criminal liability (risk analysis),
  2. assessing these risks, for example regarding their extent and their probability of occuring (risk assessment) and
  3. creating measures to reduce those risks (risk minimization).

In our experience, the minimization of risks includes in particular:

  • providing a general code of conduct
  • introducing clear responsibilities and rules
  • establishing suitable control mechanisms
  • Providing specific instructions to employees and monitoring their compliance
  • creating an internal reporting system, possibly a compliance officer
  • implementing appropriate sanctions for violations
  • documenting compliance measures
  • prior preparation of crisis management for the event of criminal incidents.

We advise on these general requirements of criminal compliance and on the resulting specific requirements in individual cases. To conduct more elaborate and particular compliance measures, we work with experienced and proven service providers.

Strafrechtliche Compliance

Der international gebräuchliche englische Begriff der „Compliance“ (wörtlich: Rechtsbefolgung) bezeichnet die Gesamtheit der organisatorischen Maßnahmen eines Unternehmens, die darauf abzielen, ein rechtmäßiges Verhalten aller Organe und Mitarbeiter bei der Ausübung ihrer Tätigkeiten für das Unternehmen sicherzustellen und rechtliche Risiken zu vermeiden.

Die strafrechtliche Compliance („Criminal Compliance“) hat speziell die strafrechtlichen Risiken im Blick. Strafrechtliche Compliance ist nicht nur ein Gebot guter Unternehmensführung und wirtschaftlicher Vernunft. Auch aus gesetzlichen Vorschriften, insbesondere § 130 Ordnungswidrigkeitengesetz (OWiG), resultiert die Pflicht der Unternehmensleitung, geeignete organisatorische Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung strafbarer Handlungen zu treffen. Ihre Verletzung kann ggf. empfindliche Geldbußen zur Folge haben, die sowohl die Mitglieder der Unternehmensleitung (§ 130 OWiG) als auch das Unternehmen selbst (§ 30 OWiG) treffen können; dies unabhängig von der Frage sonstiger Straftaten und Ordnungswidrigkeiten.

Eine systematische strafrechtliche Compliance beinhaltet typischerweise drei Elemente; nämlich

  1. die jeweilige Ermittlung der besonderen strafrechtlichen Risiken eines Unternehmens (Risikoanalyse),
  2. die jeweilige Bewertung dieser Risiken, bspw. hinsichtlich ihres Ausmaßes und ihrer Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit (Risikobewertung) und
  3. die Schaffung von Maßnahmen zur Verringerung der strafrechtlichen Risiken (Risikominimierung).

Zur Minimierung von Risiken gehören insbesondere :

  • Generelle Verhaltensanforderungen
  • Klare Regelungen von Zuständigkeiten
  • Geeignete Kontrollmechanismen
  • Konkrete Anweisungen an Mitarbeiter und die Überwachung ihrer Einhaltung
  • Schaffung eines betriebsinternen Meldewesens, ggf. eines Compliance-Beauftragten
  • Durchführung geeigneter arbeitsrechtlicher Sanktionen bei Zuwiderhandlungen
  • Dokumentation der Compliance-Maßnahmen
  • Vorbereitung eines Krisenmanagements für den Fall strafrechtlicher Vorkommnisse.

Wir beraten sowohl über diese generellen Inhalte einer unternehmensgerechten strafrechtlichen Compliance als auch über daraus resultierende Erfordernisse im Einzelfall. Zur Durchführung insbesondere aufwendigerer Compliance-Maßnahmen arbeiten wir mit erfahrenen und ausgewiesenen Dienstleistern zusammen.